The great Gurner's Lane won the 1982 VRC St Leger before going on to win the 1982 Melbourne Cup later that year.

St Leger History

By Dr Andrew Lemon

The St Leger at Flemington is older than the Melbourne Cup, first run by the Victoria Turf Club at Flemington in autumn 1857, two years after the first Victoria Derby. The rival Victoria Jockey Club took over the St Leger in 1858. The two clubs dissolved in 1864 to form the Victoria Racing Club, which has run the VRC St Leger annually ever since.

The race name honoured England’s St Leger Stakes, first run in 1776, the world’s oldest 3YO classic, traditionally run at Doncaster, UK. 

Thirteen VRC St Leger winners including Phar Lap have gone on to win a Melbourne Cup, the most recent being Gurner’s Lane in 1982. The race was switched from March to Anzac Day in 1972. 

Did you know?

The VRC St Leger is one of a number of similar events around the world, although many are no longer restricted to three-year-olds. European variations include the Irish St. Leger, the Prix Royal-Oak, the Deutsches St. Leger and the St. Leger Italiano. Other national equivalents include the Kikuka Shō, the New Zealand St. Leger and the English St. Leger Stakes held at Doncaster.

Who will add their name to the history books in the 164th VRC St Leger on ANZAC Day Race Day? All profits on the day will be donated to the ANZAC Day Proceeds Fund. General Admission and VRC Member Unreserved Tickets available via Ticketek here.