Winter racing kicks off at Flemington

Winter racing to kick off at Flemington

The Victoria Racing Club (VRC) will host the first of five winter race meetings at Flemington Racecourse with VRC Members Race Day this Saturday 5 June.

VRC Members Race Day will be run behind closed doors in line with current health advice but will acknowledge and celebrate long standing VRC members via race names and in the digital race book.

Heats of the popular winter race series will grab the attention of racing fans tuning in from home including the VRC Member Philip Jacobsen Sprint (1100m), Heat 2 of the Next Generation Sprinters Series, where a special filly will make her debut.

Black Caviar’s fifth foal Invincible Caviar will kick off her career in the race at 1:25pm at the same track that Black Caviar did in 2009. Invincible Caviar is the first progeny of Black Caviar to race for her trainer Peter Moody.

Progressive stayer Grand Promenade will feature in the opening race at 11:40am with Jamie Kah in the saddle. He comes off a second placing in The Andrew Ramsden last start and has not finished outside of the top two in all starts this campaign.

VRC Chief Executive Officer Steve Rosich said that while the ongoing impact of COVID-19 on race days for members and racegoers is disappointing, the cautious approach ensures that racing can continue.

“VRC Members Race Day begins a brilliant string of winter race meetings at Australia’s premier racecourse,” Mr Rosich said.

“In normal circumstances we would welcome members, owners and racing fans to watch the best off-season gallopers compete on the track all while enjoying great entertainment, food and wine inside one of Flemington’s warm and comfortable venues.

“Although we cannot welcome patrons on course for VRC Members Race Day, we hope racing fans will tune in from home, and we are planning to safely welcome members back to Flemington for the second of five winter race meetings on Saturday 19 June.”

Other highlights on the nine-race card include the VRC Member Thorold Gunnersen AM (1400m) where more than half the field are stakes winners including Rubisaki, Odeon and All Too Huiying. Rubisaki’s stablemate and last-start Flemington winner is All of Brighton who lines up in the VRC Member William Capell Sprint (1100m).

All race names acknowledge those who have been members of the VRC for more than 25 years.

A digital race book will be available at later this week and VRC members, owners and all racing fans are encouraged to follow the race day via broadcast partners RSN, and Channel 7 and via VRC social media platforms with the hashtag #Flemington.

Please note: VRC Members Race Day will be held behind closed doors. Non-broadcast media are not permitted to attend. Racing Victoria’s transcription service will be available from approximately 20 minutes after each race at the Racing & Sports online portal -

VRC Members Race Day Program

Race Time Name
 1  11:40am  VRC Member Emma Sargeant Plate (2500m) Heat 3 Banjo Paterson
 2  12:15pm  VRC Member Ben Edney Trophy (1400m) Heat 3 Leilani Series
 3  12:50pm  VRC Member Lesley Millson Trophy (1400m)
 4  1:25pm  VRC Member Philip Jacobsen Sprint (1100m) Heat 2 Next Generation
Sprinters Series
 5  2:05pm  VRC Member Thorold Gunnersen AM (1400m) Heat 4 VRC-CRV Winter
Championship Series
 6  2:45pm  VRC Member Brian Lindsay Trophy (1400m) Heat 3 Silver Bowl Series
 7  3:25pm  VRC Member Maureen Salter Plate (2000m) Heat 4 Mahogany Challenge
8  4:05pm  VRC Member William Capell Sprint (1100m) Heat 3 All Victorian Sprint
9  4:35pm  VRC Member Otto Kohn Trophy (2000m)