7 Supreme Stayers

There's something special about great staying racehorses. They turn up year after year and capture the imagination of the horse racing public. Makybe Diva, Phar Lap, Deep Impact, Stradivarius, Might And Power, Sagaro and Yeats raced for a number of years and won the world's biggest races, developing a legion of fans in the process. Stamina-sapping contests see racehorses give it their absolute all over staying trips, willing themselves over the line to score. Stayers generally race over longer trips (2000m+), however many great stayers have been capable of winning over shorter distances.

Watch Video